Introductions

Allow me to introduce myself.

I’m a 26 year old bookaholic who is quickly running out of room on her bookshelves but cannot stop hoarding collecting books. I read whenever I get the chance. Right now, the following are waiting for me to read them: The Distant HoursThe Elegance of the Hedgehog, the A Game of Thrones series, a biography of the Kennedy Women, and a book each about living in the Tudor Age and under the Third Reich. I love it all: history, biography, chick-lit, award winners, best sellers, and especially classics. I do draw the line at sci-fi or fantasy though, which I realize may alienate some folks. I recently went to take out some garbage and found a box of textbooks that someone was throwing away so I added them to my collection. You never know when you may need a Human Geography or Sociology textbook!

I don’t like e-readers.I cringe when I see them, and not just because it prevents me from seeing what other people are reading on the bus! It wasn’t too long ago that handy little music devices started making CDs obsolete and I worry that this will happen to lovely, beautiful, treasured books. Yes, they are encouraging more people to read and discover new authors and obviously I celebrate that. But when did it become a hardship to carry around a book? They’re heavy? Medical textbooks yes, Dickens? Hardly.

I’m part of a book club which I so look forward to each time. I harass people with my reading all the time, but in book club I’m not the only one that has an opinion! Our selection this time was When God Was A Rabbit by Sarah Winman. I just finished it yesterday. I’m still mulling it over. A post will probably be forthcoming.

My very favourite book is Pride and Prejudice. I don’t even know how many times I’ve read it. One summer I was away and that was the only book I ended up reading. I would finish it and turn to the first page and just start all over. I’m also a sucker for Anne of Green Gables (I recently read a biography of the author L.M. Montgomery – it was amazing), Jane Eyre  and always have time in my life for some Marian Keyes.

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a book blog for a while now and I just decided to go for it. It will make me happy. Which was the whole point of having read The Happiness Project wasn’t it? See? Reading is good for the soul.

I plan to talk about the books that I read, my book club, things that I read about books and publishing and any other little things that I think should be discussed. You may also find a picture or 2 of my German Shepherd, Henrik, on here because I love him too and I’m sure if you asked him he would tell you that books are delicious.

I hope that you will enjoy looking around (once I get some actual content up here) and that you will join in so that I don’t feel like some crazy street lady yelling at commuters. Or something.

Leave a Reply

