We’re Going To Be Just Fine

My friend Claire is always sending me interesting links because she is the kind of person that has a nose for interesting things. And she likes to share.

This morning she truly outdid herself with the Underground New York Public Library.

Have you heard about this? It’s genius. And kind of makes me feel a whole lot better about the general condition of humanity.

Why?

Because people are reading. They are reading and they are enjoying it and some brilliant person has taken it upon themselves to showcase it. One of the only things I like about commuting each day is the chance to read. And look around at what other people are reading. Now I can see what strangers in another city are reading too!

(I’m a book voyeur, what can I say?)

Did you go look yet? Did you see the Jewish man reading the Talmud? Or the young woman reading Pride and Prejudice (my all-time favourite)? Or the 2 little boys reading while their parents look on with obvious pride?

I don’t know if it’s because I am hyper-aware of books at all times, if it’s a seasonal thing that people enjoy reading more in the summer or if people really are embracing written treasures again but people are definitely reading more and I am loving that someone is capturing it in such a beautiful way. Clearly I’m not the only one that has noticed that people seem to be reading again.

If people are reading, for pleasure or personal betterment or to show off, we will be just fine.

So if you have some moments (or hours – I have a hard time dragging myself away from this one), check out the Underground New York Public Library. I have a sneaking suspicion that you might just find some titles to add to your own To Read list.

One thought on “We’re Going To Be Just Fine

Leave a Reply

