Books Have Power

On Sunday, which was rainy and cold in my neck of the woods, I left the house to go on our weekly dog park run (not to be misleading or anything – we don’t run. The dog runs, we trail along behind him). After that we always do our groceries and it serves as a nice little ritual (which wouldn’t be complete without a cup of expensive caffeine to warm our hands) to start or end the week (depends on your perspective).

It was hard to drag my butt out of bed (so cozy) but you can only ignore puppy dog eyes for so long, so up we got.

I don’t know if it was the weather, the post-holiday fatigue or if we were just incredibly unfortunate in the people we were running into, but people were d-bags on Sunday. After grinning and bearing it at the dog park, we experienced more of the same at the grocery store, culminating in an extremely rude cashier. That was it.

I was done with people.

Cue Monday morning when I haven’t slept and you basically approach me at your own risk.

Did I mention I’m trying to give up Starbucks (for the zillionth time)?

I was looking forward to retreating to the lunch room with my book in the middle of the day.

I’m new in the office, people don’t know me and I’m shy so I don’t generally approach other people first. Add to the mix the fact that I wasn’t in a great mood and I probably wasn’t going to make any new friends while I was in the lunch room.

But a curious thing happened. People, seeing that I was reading another new book (I’ve been blitzing through them so far…all in preparation for the numbers stunting read that Les Miserables is sure to be) started approaching me to talk books. Which is my favourite thing in the world to talk about (aside from my dog. Possibly. Depends on his attitude).

I’m not (usually) one of those people that gets annoyed any time someone talks to me when I’m reading, so despite everyone’s apologies, I was glad to chat. And I made new friends.

All because of the power of books.

What I’m trying to say here, ladies and gentlemen, is that books are amazing. Not only do they take you to distant lands and places, introduce you to a plethora of incredible characters, and form the basis of our human civilization, they help you make friends. Who doesn’t want more friends? There’s something disarming about a person reading. If you’ve read the book, you want to comment. If you haven’t, but you’ve been meaning to, you want to ask how it is so far. I know that I’ve had to stop myself on numerous occasions from offering unsolicited reading advice in book stores.

Despite my best efforts to ignore other people and let the actions of a few grumpy jerks on a Sunday colour my attitude towards the entire human race, my obsessive reading showed me the light. Something to remember when I’m next at the dog park.

One thought on “Books Have Power

  1. Yes! So true! Ten years ago, when I was a substitute in the school where I now teach, I made my first friend because I was in the lounge reading “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis. She too had read it and was a Christian and that book in my hand made her approach me. Two years later I was a teacher there and had both of her children in class the same year (different grades). What a basis for relationship!

    And I too have to hold back from unsolicited advice in book stores. Because I’m a high school English teacher, I don’t succeed as well when I see teens and parents in the YA section. I almost always share what my students and I love.

Leave a Reply

