Did You Miss Me?

I have no excuse. I am a terribly lazy, horrible, no good book blogger.

What can I say? Life happens.

Fear not, since March I have read an additional 40 books that we can talk about. I also traveled to Edinburgh, the Netherlands and got engaged!

Edinburgh, Scotland

But no excuses. Let’s try this again (anyone else getting déjà vu?)

Since we last met, I’ve read some pretty great things. Because of the hype surrounding The Great Gatsby movie, I decided to re-read that. It was better than I remember it being but it still doesn’t do it for me. If we’re being honest, the 1920s don’t do it for me. The entire decade, so over-the-top and self-involved. Rarely does something that comes from that decade inspire me. That said, I downloaded the movie soundtrack last week and I’ve been listening to it non-stop ever since.

My book club designated Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand as our pick for April. Before that we’d made our way through The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry so evidently we have a penchant for older English gentlemen. Major Pettigrew is a widower in a small English town that prides itself on maintaining the older traditions. Which is all well and good until Major Pettigrew engages in an unlikely friendship with the widowed Mrs. Ali. This book kind of reminded me of The Casual Vacancy in terms of the village prejudices that go unchallenged for generations until they unravel altogether. I was especially intrigued by the relationship between the Major and his son. I hope I don’t treat my parents like that!

I finally got my hands on some Harry Hole thrillers by Jo Nesbo. And…I’m hooked. Probably not a massive surprise considering my predilection for Camilla Lackberg and Agatha Christie but a new obsession nonetheless.

A number of books finally made their way into my hands actually. I finally got around to reading books by Jen Lancaster (Jeneration-X this time), Mindy Kaling (Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?) and Jenny Lawson (aka The Bloggess, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened). Clearly I enjoy funny women. To that end, I still have to read Kelly Oxford’s book.

A friend loaned me Secret Daughter and The Painted Girls and I ended up feeling completely differently about both books than I assumed I would: I assumed that I would love The Painted Girls (Paris, ballerinas, Degas!) and ended up being completely underwhelmed while I assumed that Secret Daughter would be underwhelming and I ended up being completely swept away by it.

But in all of the 40 books I’ve read since I abandoned you all, there’s one that stays with me more than any other: Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life.

Holy sh*t you guys, this books is amazeballs.

I’m going to post a full post about it. It deserves at least that.

What have you been reading since I left you?

3 thoughts on “Did You Miss Me?

  1. Yes I missed you! I was wondering if you’d come back, but I see you have very good reasons for being “gone.” Congrats!

    I just bought “Life After Life” today! I will be reading it after “The Devil in the White City.” A few I’ve read since you’ve been gone are Jenny Lawson and Tina Fey’s memoirs – both funny. Hit another John Green with “Looking for Alaska.” And my big accomplishment for the summer is “The Count of Monte Cristo”! Took me about 19 days and was a good read.

    Other than that, a bunch of books I’ve read pre-publication for reviews. Glad you’re back!

    • Not going to lie, it’s not terrible being missed! But I am sorry for abandoning you for so long!

      I hope you really like Life After Life! I always feel kind of bad when I rave about a book and recommend it and someone else doesn’t feel the same way! The Devil in the White City is SO good! Have you already read In The Garden of Beasts? Erik Larsen knows how to write a great book.

      Bossypants was awesome but did you kind of get the feeling that it was a rush job? Recycled material maybe?

      • I haven’t heard anyone say they didn’t like Life After Life and A Devil in the White City yet. And I thought Bossypants could’ve used a few more growing up anecdotes and not as much SNL stuff.

Leave a Reply

