Long Weekend Reads

We’re closing in on the last long weekend of the summer! Which means that we have one more long weekend left to enjoy before real life (school, schedules, holidays, money hemorrhaging because of the holidays) kicks us in the teeth again.

I choose to spend my final days of summer at the lake. This is pretty well the only place I ever go to during the summer and honestly? I wouldn’t want to go anywhere else. My fiance’s parents live in a beautiful log home, walking distance from a glorious lake and there are zero demands on anyone’s time except to relax.

The best part? There are any number of perfect reading spots: on the front porch in the morning with a cup of tea, in the hammock in the sunshine drink in hand in the afternoon, curled up with a blanket under the stars in an Adirondack chair at night.

It’s paradise. My toughest decision for these magnificent days ahead is what books to bring.

The last time we went up to the lake I was in the middle of Atonement. A day later I had abandoned it because it was terribly unsuitable lake reading. I ended up finishing Dark Places, Austenland and making a respectable dent in Jo Nesbo’s Nemesis (not the 2nd book as I had been lead to believe. Good thing I’d already read the 3rd one).

I’ve been giving this matter some serious thought over the past few days and here are the books I’m going to bring*

The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin (that is a fantastic author name) is our book club selection for September. I found this book on one of those If You Love Downton Abbey You’ll Love…lists. A beautiful wealthy American (named Cora!) travels abroad and ends up a Duchess. But all is not as it seems – her husband is suddenly secretive and Cora has to navigate English society which is snobbish and riddled with traps that could lead to social suicide. I’m really going to enjoy zipping off to Downton-esque England while I’m lying in modern-day sunshine!

I’ve wanted to read That Woman: The Life of Wallis Simpson, Duchess of Windsor by Anne Sebba since I first saw it on a table in the bookstore. I didn’t buy it that day and I had a heck of a time finding it again after! But recently, I came across a paperback copy so all is forgiven. I’ve read a LOT about the Windsors; I’ve been fascinated ever since I got a reduced copy of Kitty Kelley’s The Royals (I have no idea what a 13 year old was doing reading that either). But Wallis? Has always been this shadowy evil character that brought disgrace on the family. I never wanted to know more about That Woman. But I think the time has come to give her a chance.

Long weekends scream “chick lit” to me so I plan to read Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You. I’ve read nothing but great things about this non-traditional boy meets girl tale. Louisa is an ordinary girl leading an ordinary life when she takes a job as an assistant to Will, who has led an extraordinary life. Until he ends up in a wheelchair. She’s supposed to work for him for 6 months and then I guess something happens that will make me cry my eyes out. I hope that everyone else in the house is suitably occupied when I lose my mind over this.

A friend of mine recently read and loved Leaving The World by Douglas Kennedy so she loaned it to me, hoping that I would also love it. I will attempt to find out over the long weekend. As a young girl, Jane vows that she will never have kids and get married when she’s an adult, seeing the misery it seems to have brought her parents. But when she’s grown up and finds herself unexpectedly pregnant, she has to re-evaluate everything.

I think this is the first time I’m bringing books with me by authors that I’ve never read. There’s usually at least one tried and tested author just in case. But the other great thing about going to the lake? The house is full of books if I get stuck!

Have a great long weekend!

*I always bring too many books.

 

3 thoughts on “Long Weekend Reads

  1. Pingback: Packing Bookish Essentials | The Paperback Princess

Leave a Reply

