Bookish Birthday!

Today is my birthday, peeps. I’m 30.

I’m not one of those people that gets really stressed about turning another year older. I think I’m finally starting to catch up to the mental age I’ve always been, actually. It’s much more acceptable to stay home and Netflix on Friday night when you’re 30 than it was when I was 25.

Not that that stopped me.

But it’s a milestone birthday so I wanted to mark it with some words of wisdom.

Except now that I’m 30 I know that I actually don’t know sh*t.

Here’s what I do know:

  • Life is too short for books you don’t love.
  • A great book is always worth re-reading.
  • The only constant is change.
  • Bookish peeps are the best kind of peeps.
  • We all need to be kinder to one another.
  • Love is love.
  • Jane Austen is the bomb.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a birthday to celebrate.

celebrate

24 thoughts on “Bookish Birthday!

  1. Happy birthday! I ran away on my 30th birthday and celebrated it in Northern Ireland. It was one of the most memorable nights of my life involving a bar of Irish strangers, a load of backpackers from Australia, NZ and South Africa, and endless quantities of Guinness and Baileys!

  2. Happy Birthday!! I love your list – it makes me wonder if I know any more than that at the age of 40. Probably not. I might add: Be yourself. That was a biggie for me.
    When I turned 30, I had just had my third baby. 🙂
    Have a great party!!

    • I’m way behind on the kids Naomi! As my mother reminds me. Be yourself is probably the most important thing to know but the hardest to do. I’m looking forward to 40 because I think that’s when you finally stop caring what other people think!

  3. Happy belated Birthday!! (and a birthday HI FIVE!! I had a birthday in March too.) “Life is too short for books you don’t love.” <- a co-worker told me this a few years ago when I complained about reading Terry Goodkind's "Wizard's First Rule." I really wanted to like it but I couldn't. I was happy to switch to something I enjoy guilt free.

    • It took me a long time to actually follow that advice. It was something someone older than me told me and at the time I was one of those people that was proud to finish every book, even the difficult ones. But there comes a point where you just can’t and that’s ok.
      When was your birthday? A belated happy birthday to you!

  4. Pingback: Royal Women: The Romanov Sisters | The Paperback Princess

Leave a Reply

