Book Hoarding: Tales from the Front Line

For months I tried really hard to curb my book buying. And for the most part, I was successful. I borrowed from friends, and went to the library more often but I didn’t buy too many new books.

And then we came back from our trip and I lost my damn mind.

In the span of two short days, I managed to get three book trips in. One was a library sale (a stack of books for $3.50!) but the others were not. Want to know what all I got? Don’t tell my husband.

The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan. Money well spent. I loved it.

The House of Dolls by David Hewson. I posted about how much I wanted to get this book. And then I basically went out and got it. It was pretty alright. I really liked the fact that it takes place in Amsterdam. Amsterdam is a good setting for crime fiction! The whole thing was suffused with a real sense of “Dutch-ness” that I appreciated.

Scarlet Feather by Maeve Binchy. I love Maeve Binchy and I like to always have some on hand for a) a rainy day or b) when I need to reset my book mojo. So when I saw it at the library sale I got it only to realize when I got home that I had already bought a copy of it. So…anyone want a copy of Scarlet Feather?

Jane Austen’s First Love by Syrie James. I loved her other books, especially The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte. It was $5 at the bookstore, my friend and I both bought a copy.

The Legacy of Grazia dei Rossi by Jacqueline Park. I don’t think I ever posted about the first book, The Secret Book of Grazia dei Rossi, but I really loved it. It had been a while since I’d read really great historical fiction and that first book kind of restored my faith in the genre. The second book is mercifully shorter but after the surprising ending of the first book, I’m all kinds of curious about the second book. Did I mention the author is an octogenarian?

Lady Anna by Anthony Trollope. I’m not sure why but I’ve been in the mood to read Trollope recently. I keep hearing about him and I’ve only ever read The Way We Live Now but it was great. This story about a woman who wants to become a countess and marries a wealthy Lord and six months later he claims that the marriage never occurred, he has a living wife, she was only ever his mistress and the child she carries illegitimate – it sounds Victorian awesome.

Elizabeth & Leicester by Sarah Gristwood because I take every opportunity to expand my Royals library and I haven’t read about the Tudors recently.

The Astronaut’s Wives Club by Lily Koppel. I’d been interested when this first came out but when I heard it was going to be a TV show, it shot back up in the priority line.

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty. I can’t get enough of Liane Moriarty. It started when Big Little Lies was a book club book and then I finally read The Husband’s Secret – my friend had been after me to read it for months. What Alice Forgot will be my next fix. Hopefully Moriarty is working on something else…

Anne of Ingleside by LM Montgomery. I’m still working my way through the series and this is the next book and I didn’t have it.

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins. The Woman in White is part of my TBR Pile Challenge so obviously I needed The Moonstone for when I love The Woman in White.

Servant’s Hall by Margaret Powell. This is the follow-up to Below Stairs about what life was like for servants in the great Victorian houses.

The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory. I can’t seem to quit her, even after she keeps disappointing me. Maybe this one is a return to her greatness?

Audrey Hepburn by Barry Paris. Even though I’ve read biographies on Audrey Hepburn before I don’t think there’s such a thing as too much Hepburn.

You know how sometimes you know something is bad but you don’t know something’s bad until it’s staring you in the face? I’m in so much trouble…

22 thoughts on “Book Hoarding: Tales from the Front Line

  1. Syrie James is a friend of mine and I really enjoyed reading Jane Austen’s First Love. I haven’t read her Charlotte Brontë book yet, but your recommendation has inspired me to do so — thanks! I adore Trollope and can easily become obsessed with his characters, as I did one winter when I read the Barchester novels. Haven’t read Lady Anna yet, though, so I’ll add it to my list and I’ll look forward to hearing what you think of it. I’ve been trying very hard recently not to collect more books — it’s a real challenge, isn’t it? And it’s difficult to give them away. Good luck with managing your collection….

    • Is she really? This delights me no end! Tell me she’s writing more because her books are just great. I love them.
      I think that Trollope and I are about to embark on a beautiful friendship and I can’t wait to get started.
      It’s so hard not to take in more books. I’m also really picky about where I end up donating them. Last time I donated stacks to recovery centres and I feel like they will actually get read and loved some more. I can’t just SELL them. But a purge does need to happen again soon. I JUST did one before I left.

      • She and her son are writing a sequel to their novel Forbidden. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Jane Austen’s First Love!

        I’m with you on donating rather than selling. I donated several boxes to our local Women for Music book sale a couple of weeks ago and I still have far too many books on the shelves.

  2. Love to hear it, fellow book-hoarder!
    The only ones I’ve read on your list are Scarlet Feather (so long ago) and Anne of Ingleside. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Wilkie Collins – he’s been on my list forever, like so many other classics. I guess Trollope, too.
    The Literary Wives are reading the Astronaut Wives Club for our next discussion on the first Monday in August. You should read along!

    • I already read The Astronaut Wives Club! It was too great a coincidence that I was thinking about reading it on the day that the show started so I had to go for it. It was really interesting but there are a lot of people so it ends up being a kind of overview.
      I really need to get on reading Wilkie Collins but I think I’m more excited about Lady Anna right now.
      I seriously can’t believe I have two copies of Scarlet Feather. My husband said it was bound to happen at some point and was only surprised that it took this long.

      • I often come home with books only to find I already have them. I guess it says a lot about the state of our book collections, doesn’t it? Luckily, they are all usually bought at much-reduced prices, so I just look at it as an extra donation to whoever was having the sale!

  3. I totally love your reason for buying The Moonstone! I got interested in literature from and about the Balkans about 2 weeks ago and got a bunch of Kindle samples and also bought a couple of books online, totally breaking my book-buying ban. The trouble is that I don’t remember anymore what books I bought or where I bought them. Now I have to wait to see what comes in the mail and what doesn’t. (And hopefully, I can intercept the mail and secretly dispose of the packing material so that no one knows I bought more books…)

    • Those are going to be some lovely mail surprises though! I do the same thing – I read about one thing and want to know more so I search out anything I can find. Reading introduces you to all kinds of interesting things you might never have looked for otherwise.
      Hopefully you do get a chance to intercept that mail!

  4. Pffffft. You totally deserved a little binge. It’s not like you buy them and leave them unread. You’ve already read 3 (according the the little Goodreads widget beside your post :)!)
    You had a lovely vacation and then indulged a little in wonderful literature after a long time of being careful with book buying. I see no problems with this :).
    I’ve curbed my book buying this year and I’m so impressed with myself. I only buy something when I’m dying to read it and it feels great to have restraint. But it also means I no longer kick myself every time I make a purchase because I feel like I buy less and I deserve that little happiness from getting a new book every so often.
    Hope you enjoy all your new lovelies :).

    • Can you tell my husband all that? hahaha
      And you’re right, I HAVE read three of them. And they were all mostly pretty OK.
      I always seem to have more than enough reading material on hand but sometimes being so good for a while just makes me lose my mind. And then this happens!

  5. A stack of books for $3.50? How can you pass that up? Plus if it was a library sale you’re doing good work giving money back to your community. All good deeds. I think my husband will leave me if I bring new books into my house so someone else needs to buy on my behalf.

  6. I totally understand that need to go out and buy books. I can hold out for months and then wham! I’m in a bookstore, or at a library sale, buying more. 🙂 Of course, then I have to go home and somehow make room on my shelves for the new books…which sometimes means letting go of old ones. Have fun reading all your new purchases!

    • It’s exactly like that for me! I actually cannot fit any more on my shelves. They are piled in front of it now, on any flat surface, in the kitchen, beside the bed, on the coffee table, beside the couch…it’s maybe getting out of hand…

  7. First of all, some of those deals were so amazing, you would’ve been crazy to pass them up. Second, I had the same goal going and have made it all the way til July without buying a single book. But then I realized I couldn’t go without Go Set a Watchman – the sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird. So as of July, my record of not buying new books in 2015 will be broken – technically. However, this also seems to be a huge exception! Think about the momentous occasion this book’s release is. I’d go without meals to buy it if I had to. So, if I can buy no books after this one, I will still count my goal as attained. But anything can happen in six months! Like a really good deal!

  8. Pingback: TBR Pile Challenge: The Woman in White | The Paperback Princess

  9. Pingback: Somebody Stop Me | The Paperback Princess

Leave a Reply

