Rolling My Eyes

Full disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Penguin Random House of Canada in exchange for an honest review.

When I first saw the title of the book I’m talking about today I had a moment of maybe I won’t read that. The title, No Cure For Love, makes me laugh, which is probably not the reaction you’re looking for when you’ve written a book about a stalker with a murderous streak. Because that’s what No Cure For Love is about.

Sarah Broughton is a transplanted Brit in Hollywood. She plays a cool, efficient detective on TV and is living the Hollywood life in an oceanfront beach house. But then she starts receiving strange letters that are addressed to Sally, which happens to be her real name. At first Sarah shrugs them off but when she’s convinced that someone is watching her on the beach she calls on her friends to help. See, Sarah had a breakdown about a year earlier and these letters are threatening to undo all the hard work she’s been putting in.

This book actually came out 20 years ago – the version that I have is an anniversary edition. That means that the story happens like it would have 20 years ago: barely any cell phones, databases, security cameras or high tech anything. And I’m not going to lie, when I first started reading this I rolled my eyes a few times. Sarah is a beautiful blonde actress,  the casting director is an older, overweight guy who has all the power, the cops are no nonsense tough guys out to catch bad guys.

In other words, it starts out very formulaically. And I don’t think this would have bothered me at all if I hadn’t just read the forward that was all about how authentic this book is.

Against all odds I became completely invested in this book though. Once the cast of characters is introduced, Peter Robinson seems to take his foot off the descriptive pedal and allows the story to move forward. Quickly. One minute Sarah is being interviewed about the letters by Detective Arvo Hughes, the next she finds a body on the beach. In pieces. And from there the story moves along fast. In the end, the fast pace, the red herrings, the clever ending and the balls-to-the-wall story really redeemed it from it’s eye-rolly start.

I loved going back in time with the investigation. The police don’t have the internet, there are no Facebook or instagram accounts to  watch. They have to go out and interview people, drive out to other towns to talk to more people – there’s a lot of legwork involved.

If you’re looking to tap out of a more serious read and just enjoy something because it’s fun, this is the kind of book you’ll enjoy. If you love fast paced thrillers, I’m pretty sure that you will like this one. I really did and no one is more surprised by that than me right now.

8 thoughts on “Rolling My Eyes

  1. Maybe the publishing world has moved on in the last 20 years and now the opening chapters would have been improved before publication. Although I’m still surprised when I read recently published books that have a bit of a Blah beginning. Maybe not quite as corny sounding as this though.

Leave a Reply

