Library Checkout: March 2016

LibraryCheckoutBig

Each month, Shannon @ Rivercity Reading does a library useage rundown and invites all of us to do the same.

I wrote this post. And then I realized that my library use in March was pathetic so I rectified it immediately. It started with wanting to return the books so others could love them and ended with a new pile of 5 books. A conservative stack, really.

Herewith, March, the library and me:

Library Books Read
Jennie Churchill: Winston’s American Mother by Anne Sebba
The Sisters: Babe Mortimer Paley, Betsy Roosevelt Whitney, Minnie Astor Fosburgh: The Lives and Times of the Fabulous Cushing Sisters by David Grafton
The Mathematician’s Shiva by Stuart Rojstaczer
In the Woods by Tana French
Dead Man’s Folly by Agatha Christie

Checked Out, To be Read
The Slap by Christos Tsoikos
The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johanson
Flappers: Six Women of a Dangerous Generation by Judith Mackrell
After Alice by Gregory Maguire
Girls of Riyadh by Rajaa Alsanea (sounds like Crazy Rich Asians in Saudi Arabia!!)
The Secret Life of Violet Grant by Beatriz Williams

Returned, Unread
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
The Color Purple by Alica Walker

On Hold
None. When I wrote this before I was like “no holds, I’m boring, sorry.” But now I have all these new books to read and I’m stoked.

What did your library reading look like in March?

 

7 thoughts on “Library Checkout: March 2016

  1. Oooo, The Slap! I’ve heard great things about Christos Tsoikos. I read Flappers with my book club not too long ago and we all loved it – definitely a book that will send you down a Wiki rabbithole!

  2. Because I just had too many library books last month, most of my library activity this month has been sending them back, many unread. I did pick up some of George Elliott Clarke’s poetry books, though – something a little different.
    Our library’s closing soon to move into its new location, which will just about drive me insane, but I’m hoping it will get me reading some more of my own books!
    Looking forward to hearing about The Slap and Flappers!

    • Will the new location be closer to you???
      We’re thinking of moving and I just realized I had no idea what the library situation was like in the area we’re looking at.
      I’m looking forward to reading both of those!

      • It will be in almost exactly the same location. The old, historic building behind the ugly library has been gutted and renovated. So, they only have to move a few meters away! Too bad it will still take forever. But, it will be so much nicer (and bigger) when it’s all done. And, hopefully there will be room for more books!
        You better check on your own library situation!

  3. OMG I’m obsessed with the Queen of the Tearling! I hope you love it. I have After Alice to read too , I really need to get on that. Definitely looking forward to hearing about Girls of Riyadh.

    • I’m reading Girls of Riyadh right now. It’s good…but not Crazy Rich Asians good.
      I know you are! You were proclaiming your love for it on social recently and then I walked into the library and it basically threw itself at me – it felt like a sign.
      It’s been so long since I’ve read any Gregory Maguire. And since I’ve recently re-read Alice in Wonderland, it feels like a good time for this.

Leave a Reply

