Library Checkout – July 2016

LibraryCheckoutBigEvery month Shannon @ Rivercity Reading encourages us all to show off what we read/took out from the library.

While Shannon had a great month at the library , this has not been a strong library month for me! I have no excuses or reasons. I had a PILE of books out from the library to start and then I started returning them but didn’t take anything else out because I have SO MANY books at home that need reading.

Still trying to dig my way out from under the piles of books I have ambitiously purchased or borrowed (from friends, not the library). But in the meantime, this is what July at the library looked like.

Library Books Read
The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler (had high hopes for this one, it never quite took off for me)
The House Girl by Tara Conklin
The Radleys by Matt Haig
Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngoze Adichie

Checked Out, To Be Read
Cecilia, or Memoirs of an Heiress by Frances Burney (an ongoing project…hoping to return the library copy as soon as my order comes through from Oxford University Press but…it’s been a while and no dice. Update: I emailed them to ask about the status of my order and they had no answer but are apparently sending me a replacement copy…guys, this is the second time I’ve ordered something with them that has turned out very poorly.)

Returned, Unread
The White Russian by Vanora Bennet (I read a couple of pages and decided that the first person perspective was going to make me nuts)
The Careful Use of Compliments by Alexander McCall Smith (For various reasons, not the right book for me right now and I saw someone was waiting for it…)

On Hold
I should probably just remove this category from my rundown altogether. I can’t see myself putting anything on hold anytime soon.

10 thoughts on “Library Checkout – July 2016

  1. I felt the way you do for the last few months – like there were piles of books everywhere and I didn’t even know where everything went! It sounds like you did get a few good ones in, though 🙂

  2. I agree about The Book of Speculation- it was bit more than a ‘meh’ for me, but not much.

    Like you, my hold list has almost disappeared. Too much TBR at home to add to the pressure from the library!

Leave a Reply

