Lake Reads: Canadian Thanksgiving edition

lake reads

Anyone else feeling like they are heading for a breakdown? Just me? Every day I think about just staying in my house and tunnelling through the books that I want to read. Well, this weekend is Thanksgiving in Canada. Which means that for the next four days, that’s pretty much exactly what I will be doing. At the lake. In a log house. Near the fireplace. Cuddling with puppies.

I cannot wait to get away from everything.

penny

The best part is I have GREAT books that I’m bringing. I mean, I assume they are great because obviously I haven’t read them. But I’m really excited to read them.

Jealous?

These are the books I’m spending the long weekend with.

You Can’t Touch My Hair: and Other Things I Still Have to Explain by Phoebe Robinson. I started reading a couple of pages of this book and felt like I’d met my other half. I can’t wait to get to the rest of this book of essays about race, dating, and pop culture. Robinson is a comedian and, along with Jessica Williams, host of the podcast 2 Dope Queens, which you should totally listen to because it’s hilarious.

The Mothers by Brit Bennett. You’ve likely seen this book around. It’s on Buzzfeed’s list of 21 Books You Need to Read This Fall and people have been talking about it. It’s set in a modern black community in Southern California and it starts with a secret. Can’t wait to get to it.

Darling Days by iO Tillett Wright. I first heard about this book because of this wicked list Shannon @ Rivercity Reading put together. And then a copy showed up at my door. It’s a memoir about growing up with a domineering mother and about a moment that made the author, born female, want to be a boy.

The Accidental Empress by Alison Pataki. I’m a little bit obsessed with Empress Elisabeth of Austria. I’ve read a biography of her, and more recently, The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin, which I loved. The Accidental Empress looks at Elisabeth’s early years at the Austrian court. If I like this one, there’s a follow up called Sisi. I’m a little apprehensive about this one – Amanda @ Gun in Act One recently read another of Pataki’s books and didn’t like it…

The Big Four by Agatha Christie. A Hercule Poirot novel for the long weekend. Don’t think I need to say more than that!

Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures by Emma Straub. I was one of the last people to read The Vacationers but I loved it. I enjoyed Modern Lovers, although not as much as The Vacationers. Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures is the only one I haven’t read and since I recently returned another book about the stars of the silver screen, this seemed like a good way to get my fill.

The Taming of the Queen by Philippa Gregory. If there is one book that I keep meaning to read, this is it. I can’t tell you how many times I almost read this book, only to put it aside for something else. I used to devour everything Gregory wrote but then we hit a rough patch and I stopped. We seemed to hit a new stride after The King’s Curse (man, was that good) and I am confident that The Taming of the Queen will be more of the same. This one tells the story of Henry VIII’s last wife, Katherine Parr. She was incredibly educated (especially for a woman at the time) and managed to survive her domineering, bully of a husband. Maybe I will actually read this!

5 thoughts on “Lake Reads: Canadian Thanksgiving edition

  1. You have me wanting to pick up a Phillipa Gregory book for sure. It’s been a long time for me. I am so very curious about The Mothers – can’t wait to see what you think!

  2. Oh my gosh, you have got some GREAT reading! I loved The Taming of the Queen- poor Katherin Parr- putting up with Henry in his last days. Yuck. Like Amanda I really want to see what you think about The Mothers!

  3. I was also itching to get away for a while. We ended up going camping for a couple of days – it felt so good! I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend!

Leave a Reply

