Nonfiction November: New to My TBR

Well! We’re already at the end of Non-Fiction November! I always count on November to be a month that unravels slowly, to allow for maximum reading time but this November was a bit of a shit-show wasn’t it?

That said, I will be forever grateful to Non-Fiction November for such a great month of non-fiction love. It was the perfect excuse to clear a whole bunch of non-fiction titles from my list and upped my non-fiction percentage to 28! I managed to read the following, most of which I loved:

This is the last week, and it’s hosted by Lory @ The Emerald City Book Review. This is the week we get to list all the great books that have found their way onto our TBRs! (So much for clearing any titles off my list…)

I’ve been keeping an eye on the recommendations coming in to B.B. Toady for her Southern Settings requests. There’s a lot of fiction that is set in the South that I’ve read but not so much non-fiction. Empire of Sin: A Story of Sex, Jazz, Murder, and the Battle for Modern New Orleans by Gary Krist was suggested and I’m going to keep an eye out for that. South Toward Home: Travels in Southern Literature by Margaret Eby also sounds great!

Sarah’s Book Shelves had some great pairings during Week 3. The dark side of gymnastics really jumped out at me and I’ve added Meg Abbott’s You Will Know Me and Dominique Moceanu’s memoir Off Balance to my list!

Amanda @ Gun in Act One reminded me about a few greats that I keep meaning to read (mostly because of her insistence). I have The Bad Ass Librarians fromTimbuktu out from the library right now. Romantic Outlaws is totally in my wheelhouse and I can’t think of a more descriptive title than The Dead Duke, His Secret Wife and the Missing Corpse.

Brandy @ Reading Beyond introduced me to the network of crime writers known as the Detection Club of which Agatha Christie was a member. So of course now I need to read The Golden Age of Murder which is a history of that club. She also mentioned The Proud Tower by Barbara W. Tuchman, a collection of essays about politics before WWI and that has definitely piqued my interest as well.

I had recently listened to a podcast where Sonia Sotomayor was interviewed by Sonia Manzano (Maria from Sesame Street). Manzano read from Sotomayor’s book and I remember thinking “I need to read that.” Which I had forgotten about until JoAnn @ Lakeside Musings posted about it. In that same post, she talked about reading Sisters in Law, a dual biography about Sandra Day O’Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg, by Linda Horseman and now I want to do that too.

So basically, this event has allowed me to clear out a nice stack of non-fiction titles I had kicking around the house. But it also replaced pretty well every one of them.

Thanks so much to Katie @ Doing Dewey, Lory @ Emerald City Book Review, Sarah @ Sarah’s Book Shelves, Rachel @ Hibernator’s Library, and Julz @ Julz Reads for hosting. It’s been a blast!

13 thoughts on “Nonfiction November: New to My TBR

    • Those *were* all this month! I wanted to like Jane Austen’s England so much more than I did! I found that it got bogged down in quoting long passages from sources. It might also have been when I was reading it that it was so sticky…

      • You’re right about that drawback of JAE. The British title was “Eavesdropping on Jane Austen’s England” and looking at it that way kind of helped to forgive the long quotes of primary sources.

        I also recommend Ruth Goodman’s How To Be a Victorian for some fascinating insights into the nineteenth century. The best part is that she tried to actually DO things rather than just read or talk about them.

      • I JUST saw that one at the library and thought about grabbing it. I didn’t but it’s still there for me. It’s been on my list for ages and I keep ignoring it. Glad to hear that one holds up better.

  1. Wow, you had an amazing month!! A friend was just telling me about Truevine… sounds like a good one. I finished Sonia Sotomayor’s book last weekend. She’s such an inspiring woman. Ill have to search for that podcast.

  2. You killed it this month with both your reading and your posting!
    It’s so true about replacing every book we read with others. I don’t think we will ever escape this. 🙂

  3. I’ve already added Forty Autumns to my TBR b/c of you and you just reminded me to add The Almost Nearly Perfect People!

  4. Pingback: Links I Loved This Week – 12/02/2016 – Novels And Nonfiction

  5. Haha, oh no! I’d gotten away with very few books added to my to-read list so far, but there are a bunch you read that I’ve never heard of and which I would love to read. A Chosen Exile, American Hookup, and Forty Autumns sound particularly fascinating.

    • I really appreciate being introduced to all these books that I might not otherwise have been drawn to. I also loved an excuse to only read nonfiction. I am finding that I miss it now that I’m “allowed” to read fiction again.

Leave a Reply

