Library Checkout – January 2017

librarycheckout2

Even though I’ve committed to reading more of the books I already have in my possession, I am not actually capable of turning my back on my library.

Partly it’s that I need the peace and quiet in my work days (my library is a block from my office) but I also just really like accessing free books.

Because dear Shannon is busy being super brilliant and academic, she’s handed the reins of the Library Checkout over to Charleen @ It’s a Portable Magic (Hi Charleen!). Same idea, new home.

My month at the library looked like this:

Read
Along the Infinite Sea by Beatriz Williams
An Untamed State by Roxane Gay (whyyyyyyyyy didn’t I buy this?)
The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
The Unbearable Lightness of Scones by Alexander McCall Smith

Did Not Finish
Court Lady and Country Wife: Two Noble Sisters in the Seventeenth Century England by Lita-Rose Betcherman – I should have been ALL OVER this. But I was so bored reading about all the men doing things.

On Hold
Thought about putting holds on Canada Reads finalists but…every other book nerd in Canada will be doing the same thing. I bought two of them instead.

Returned, Unread
The Lost Sisterhood by Anne Fortier

Currently Out
Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld
The Butcher’s Hook by Janet Ellis

If I’m honest, I might be returning the last two unread. I think I’ve lost interest? They are due back early next week, maybe over the weekend. Are either of these must reads?

How was your month at the library? Visit It’s a Portable Magic to link up!

21 thoughts on “Library Checkout – January 2017

  1. My experience is a bit similar. My plan is to read more my own books, but I find myself still renting from the library because the books are free and available.

  2. I read somewhere that it’s good for libraries to check out books so they show usage! So I’m trying to use my awesome library more even though I really love buying books. Anyway, I loved Prep when I first read it but that was 12 years ago, not sure how it would hold up to me now. Curtis Sittenfeld is a beautiful writer, though.

    • It’s GREAT for libraries! My librarian friend tells me this all the time.
      I just saw that Prep is being turned into the basis of an HBO comedy? So maybe I should give it a read…I really liked her book Eligible, which is the only one I’ve read. It was brilliant!

  3. I put holds on all the Canada Reads books, and there were NO waits! The difference between living in a big city versus a small town. However, the drawback is that usually my library doesn’t have any of them, but this time I had no problem. It was quite a nice surprise. 🙂 I’m reading The Break right now – I had that one on hold anyway, so came in last night. What do you think of the choices this year?

    • That these are maybe the most Canadian ones we’ve had in a while? I bought The Break and the one about climate change. I think I will probably end up getting a copy of Fifteen Dogs but for my husband to read – he keeps talking about it. I don’t know if I will ever read it…

      • I also heard from a couple of people that Company Town is surprisingly good. I’m not sure yet about Nostalgia, but it does sound intriguing… I hope they’re all good! And quick to read – I have a feeling they’re all going to come at once… along with all the other books I already had on hold at the library before yesterday!

  4. I go to the library all the time, even if it’s just to browse or sit by the window for a bit. Then I check out books just for the heck of it. It’s just so nice to leave with a stack of books. 🙂 I feel all sophisticated because I have read one book from the Canada Reads longlist, hahaha. I loved 15 Dogs, but I am hesitant to recommend it to any dog lovers I know.

    • Honestly, I NEVER read books about dogs because they are always devastating. Even in books where the dog isn’t a focus and something terrible happens to it, it’s the worst for me.
      You’re SO sophisticated! I hadn’t read any from the Longlist either!
      You’re right about just being in the library, sitting by the window. In this crazy world, the library is still an oasis.

  5. In theory I mean to read more books from my own shelves this year too, but simultaneously several of my reading goals for the year don’t mesh well with this intenton; for instance, I want to read more non-fiction but I don’t have as many NF choices on my shelves, so successfullly doing so will mean borrowing quite a few items. Of course, of all the library books I read in January, not one was non-fiction. Heheh So maybe I’m just fooling myself on that score! I”m aiming for 25% of my reading to be from my own shelves, so that shouldn’t be too hard, right?

    • This is so interesting to me! I buy a LOT of my non-fiction. Right now I have PILES of it in my house. I tend to buy it because non-fiction feels important to me to own. None of the library books I read were non-fiction but the 3 books that I read that were non-fiction in January, all three were recent acquisitions!

      • That makes a lot of sense to me; it’s the same reason for which I collect fiction, because I tend to want to have copies to refer back to (check for quotes, etc.) and I can imagine wanting non-fiction for the same reason, to be surrounded by references that might help make sense of everything. Have you always bought more NF than fiction, or has it become a habit over time?

  6. Pingback: Why I buy non-fiction | The Paperback Princess

Leave a Reply

