Library Checkout: February 2017

I’m trying not to be an apologist blogger anymore so I won’t apologize for not putting up blog content. I totally feel bad about it and I’m alive. Just…really terrible at putting up blog content!

librarycheckout2

This is why the library checkout, hosted by Charleen @ It’s a Portable Magic, is so great. We all get content and I don’t have to use my brain too too much. (What is wrong with my brain, you guys? It feels mushy)

Although, really, it’s been a shameful month at the library. You’ll see. I just have so many stacks of books at home and I’m starting to feel really terrible about not reading all of them, all the time. It’s a horrible feeling and I’m hoping it goes away if I focus on my own books for a while. I’m really terrible at that, though. I’m the kind of reader that’s like “OH THAT’S SO SHINY AND NEW, LET ME HAVE IT NOW.” I need to get more in the mindset of “These books aren’t going anywhere. I don’t need to have this book in my possession this instant.”

Even though I know it’s true, it feels like a lie.

Anyway, let’s get to the shame of my month at the library.

Read
The Story of a New Name by Elena Ferrante (ohhhh I loved this one! Remember when I was super lukewarm about My Brilliant Friend? I take it back. Give me all the Ferrante books!)
Three Sisters, Three Queens by Philippa Gregory (I’m still reading this as I write this. I’m really enjoying it but it’s dense and long and I know someone’s waiting for it so I’m trying to read as fast as I can)

DNF’d
Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave (I don’t know what happened here – I have loved all of Cleave’s other work. This one felt inauthentic and forced. Since someone was waiting for it, I decided to just send it back)

Returned unread
The Butcher’s Hook by Janet Ellis
Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld (this is the second time I have returned one of her books to the library unread even though I really enjoyed Eligible!)

Currently out
Hitman Anders and the Meaning Of It All by Jonas Jonasson

On hold
Nothing right now but I’m thinking about putting a hold on the next Elena Ferrante book…maybe Emily Climbs too…

14 thoughts on “Library Checkout: February 2017

  1. I have the same problem with getting new books faster than I can read them. It’s becoming a hazard of living space in my bedroom…

  2. I was surprised by how blah I found Everyone Brave Is Forgiven. I did finish it, but if there’d been a wait list I probably would have sent it back too. I haven’t read any other Chris Cleave books, so maybe he’s just not for me, but I’d only heard good things about this one, so… I dunno.

    • Incendiary nearly broke me. Little Bee was incredible and I really loved Gold too. He’s a brilliant writer. But maybe he should stick to modern times? The historical setting was so forced. And the “lingo” of the time, the way the characters talked about children with developmental disabilities or black children?? Hard no for me.

  3. I’ve read all of Curtis Sittenfeld and I have enjoyed them all (in different ways); I don’t know why I haven’t made her one of my official MustReadEverything authors, because clearly I do simply read everything she writes, so I guess she must have kinda snuck up on me (in a good way). My library borrowing is about half of what it normally is, but that’s quite alright, because it’s quite ridiculous most of the time. No, really. Maybe March will awaken your mushy-feeling brain: good luck!

    • Her books sounds amazing and I’ve only ever heard great things about them. And each time, I take them from the library with the best of intentions and then I send them back unread. Maybe I just need to buy one? I’m sure that will help hahahaha
      The great thing about the library is that it’s always there, ready for you when you need it.

  4. The balance between old books and new, my own books and the library is an ongoing battle here, too. But, really, a battle that I can’t complain about. I have accepted it as inevitable. I’m even starting to look at it as fun!
    I’m glad you liked the 2nd Ferrante book much better (and that you decided to try it!). Too bad about Chris Cleave – I still have that book in my pile.
    Yes to Emily Climbs! She’s waiting for you…

    • I ordered the other Emily books yesterday. I bought the new Tundra version of Emily of New Moon and really, they are too pretty not to complete the set.
      Once we move somewhere else, I’m sure that I will feel so much better about all the piles of books. It’s the prospect of moving them all that’s troubling me right now. I want to be on the other side of this buying and selling nightmare (and it is a nightmare on this coast) and just be dreaming of all the bookshelves I’m going to have built!
      The second Ferrante was so great. Oh man. Even now, thinking about it, I’m blown away. What a force.

Leave a Reply

