Non-Fiction November: My year in Non-Fiction

Last year I tentatively decided to participate in Non-Fiction November for the first time. This year, I’ve been looking forward to it all year long.

Non-Fiction November is an annual appreciation of all things non-fiction hosted by Katie at Doing Dewey, Julie at JulzReads, Sarah of Sarah’s Book Shelves, Lory of Emerald City Book Review, and Kim at Sophisticated Dorkiness,

Let’s get to it!

The first week, hosted by Julie @ JulzReads, asks us to reflect on our non-fiction reading so far this year!

What was your favorite nonfiction read of the year?

We all know that it’s impossible to choose one favourite book at any time. This is no exception. I’ve read some really great non-fiction this year. These definitely stand out:

What nonfiction book have you recommended the most?

I read Too Fat, Too Slutty, Too Loud early in the year and I’ve recommended that one to a lot of people. At the very least to read the essay on Kim Kardashian and pregnancy which is a real stand out. More recently, I’ve been preaching about Seven Fallen Feathers. The story of these Indigenous youths that we all turned our backs on is one that needs to be known more widely. We can’t keep pretending that these problems don’t exist in Indigenous communities and that we didn’t have a hand in creating them through racist policies.

What is one topic or type of nonfiction you haven’t read enough of yet?

This year I’ve read more socially conscious non-fiction. Which is great because that’s something that I wanted to do more of this time last year. BUT. Reading those kinds of books on top of the state of the world can be quite draining. I think this month I would love to read more ‘frivolous’ non-fiction. I want to read more about royals (my fave!), biographies, about women in the past. I think I need a bit of a break from the social commentary that feels a bit like little glass slivers cutting me.

What are you hoping to get out of participating in Nonfiction November?

I want to clear some of my non-fiction TBR! So far this year, 30% of my reading has been non-fiction (which sounds great until you realize that my reading numbers overall are just lower so a greater amount of them are non-fiction) but I still have so many books sitting on my shelves. I have books about royal parents, Leni Riefenstahl and Marlene Dietrich, housewives in the 1950s, ballet at the Bolshoi, a few biographies of Queen Victoria and books about women and families fighting fascists in the 1940s.

I’m also really looking forward to interacting with other non-fiction readers. And for every book that I clear from my TBR, I look forward to adding three in their place from recommendations by other participants!

Does this sound like something you want to get in on? There’s still time? Check out the schedule here. There’s also a book swap if you sign up this week!

24 thoughts on “Non-Fiction November: My year in Non-Fiction

  1. There’s a whole other version of Non Fiction November happening on Booktube, with very different challenges. I was getting all confused. Thanks for linking to the sched, now i get it!!

    I’m starting with The Secret Life of Trees. Been enjoying science books a bit this year. May also read Paul Auster’s Winter Journal, which seems to be the non-fiction precursor to 4321, which I just read.

    No specific plans after that!

  2. This is my first year joining, too, so I’m really looking forward to it (my post goes up tomorrow, because I was also reading for #1968Club which launched today too – as if Hallowee’en wasn’t enough to make this a busy week)! I’m not sure what the month’s reading will be like, but, like you, I’m looking forward to adding more rec’s to my TBR!

  3. This is my first year doing this blogging event, and I’m so excited about it! I would love to read more books about royals, that topic is one of my guilty pleasures!

  4. I read a lot of heavier, more socially conscious nonfiction last year, but have been in a reading slump much of this year. Lighter nonfiction (maybe less serious is a better term?) has helped so much… books about food, books about books. Maybe I should switch to the Royals. The new bio of Prince Charles looks really good!

  5. I’m with you on socially conscious nonfiction – I’m so glad I’m reading it but my heart, my heart. Lighter nonfiction is a great way to break it up! Books about books are my personal favorite.

  6. As much as you’re looking forward to joining, I’m looking forward to following! I could join in with that nice little pile of Hilary Weston books I won, but I’m not finished with the Giller list yet. I might get to read one or two of them in November, but I doubt they’ll also be reviewed in November. But we’ll see. No pressure… I just like following along and add endless numbers of books to my lists. 🙂
    Have fun!
    Oh, and thanks for the link to that article about women’s public bodies! Geesh, if people think she looks bad, I don’t know what the world is coming to!

  7. Thank you for the recommendation of Seven Fallen Feathers. I’m always on the lookout for books about indigenous culture and history.

    I’m so excited to take part in this NFN this year and find out what everyone’s reading. 😀

  8. I can certainly understand that socially conscious reading could be draining right now. A lot of those books looks interesting, but right now, I just can’t go there. Maybe next year…

    • I hear you. It’s one thing to read about things that happened 70 or 100 years ago and go “why didn’t they see this coming?” It’s something else to read about things that are broken right now and…then what? Read what makes you happy.

  9. Pingback: Nonfiction November – Sharing Introductions | JulzReads

  10. I read a lot of narrative non-fiction which always seems more accessible to me. I have a few biography books and scientific books but I feel like I need to be in a different mindset to read them. I’m going to try soon though! Good luck with your reading. 🙂

    • It’s partly why I don’t really plan for my reading – you have to be in the right mood for so many books. I don’t think I’ve read a lot of scientific nonfiction…I always worry I’m not smart enough to understand what I’m reading!

  11. I like a good balance of nonfiction that’s socially conscious or on tough topics with more frivolous too. And women in history are one of my favorite topics too 🙂

Leave a Reply

